When The Weather Decides What You’re Wearing

DSC_0112

This is what I wore on Valentine’s Day. Was it what I had planned for the night’s festivities? Not at all. I had been envisioning a floral playsuit (that had shorts instead of actual pants) with lace-up heeled sandals and the peachy nude lips I debuted last week on here. I tried so hard to make it work with tights, but it the playsuit demands to be worn on its own with a pair of smokin’ hot heels. Although it was nice and warm during the day, once the sun went down, it was in the 40’s, which is pretty unusual (unless there’s a cold front). I had to choose between getting sick and making my outfit planning dreams come true, so you can guess which one I chose. 

For some reason, I thought it would be a really good idea to pick an outfit inspired by Taylor Swift’s Blank Space video, since there are so many amazing pieces to pull inspiration from. I put so much work into planning the outfit. I went on a scavenger hunt at Forever 21 to find a topcoat that coordinated with the playsuit. I spent a lot of time looking silly around the house breaking in the new lace-up heeled sandals I got. And as usual, Florida’s weather thwarted my plans. I went outside to test my outfit out and even with the sun still up, I could tell that a cold was written in my future unless I changed into something warmer. With only forty minutes left to do my hair and make-up, I panicked. The first thing I grabbed was my new plaid skirt from H&M, and I paired it with my trusty turtleneck from Cache with the shoulder cut-outs. When it’s cold and I don’t know what else to wear, I turn to my black and nude turtlenecks.

Since I was wearing a lot of black, I decided to break things up with my leopard coat (contrary to what my blog leads you to believe, I actually do own other coats). I also realized that the only thing saving my outfit from becoming my elementary school uniform was a pair of heels, so I chose my chunky heeled ankle booties from Shoe Dazzle. The one thing I was able to salvage from my original outfit was a y-chain necklace from BaubleBar, aka my new favorite trend. You can wear it casually with a v-neck or turtleneck, or you can glam it up by wearing it backwards with one of those gorgeous dresses with a low-cut back. I’m all for this new trend!

DSC_0116DSC_0117

DSC_0111

While I didn’t get to wear what I had been obsessing over the last couple of weeks, I’m glad I managed to look cute while keeping warm. I had a really fun night out with my friends. 🙂

Does anyone else have similar stories about unexpected outfit changes? What do you usually do in this situation? Let’s chat in the comments!

sig

One thought on “When The Weather Decides What You’re Wearing

Leave a Reply

