Weekend Adventures

DSC_1065

Hello my loves! I hope you’ve all gotten off to a great start this week. Yesterday was my first day of school for the spring semester, and I’m taking a relatively lighter load than I was last semester, so I’m pretty optimistic about it for the most part. 🙂 Since I’ve moved out of Gainesville, I’ve taken a lot more time to explore Orlando and do more than just the tourist-y things (although those things are great too). Most weekends, I explore new places, and by places I mean FOOD! Coffee shops, restaurants, and markets are definitely my jam (no pun intended). This past weekend, I had a nice girl’s day to end winter break with one of my friends, and discovered two places that I will definitely visit again in the future. And in case anyone was wondering – I tried something new with my hair. In addition to getting a much needed trim, I added some balayage highlights to my hair! Although I love jet black hair, I just wanted to spice my hair up a little. Okay, back to food and coffee!

DSC_1062

A day of indulgence meant wearing a really comfortable outfit. That’s why I wore my favorite white AE jeggings with a comfortable knit turtleneck (in a lovely shade of blue that I need more of ASAP!) from Forever 21 (no longer online), a faux leather moto jacket from Forever21 (similar), my Target ankle booties from my previous blog post, and my Michael Kors Selma (similar).

The first thing we did was go shopping, since the Victoria’s Secret Semi-Annual Sale was in its final days, but I’ll post more about the shopping later! After the mall, we went to East End Market – a neighborhood market featuring local food artisans and inspired by local farmers. You’ll find a little bit of everything at East End Market. What stood out to me were La Femme du Fromage (cheese, anyone?), Lineage Coffee Roasting, Skyebird Juice Bar and Experimental Kitchen, and 99 Mkt. I didn’t arrive with an empty stomach, which was a mistake, but I definitely want to try a salad from Skyebird and make a little cheese plate at La Femme du Fromage! Porch Therapy//99 Mkt has a bunch of lovely plants perfect for brightening up any apartment/house. Lineage’s Brew Bar is for the true coffee enthusiast, but everyone can find something there. One of the most popular drinks is the Cold Brew, which is sweet and provides a great kick of energy! Overall, East End Market is a nice place to spend a Saturday morning at with friends or family.

DSC_1069 DSC_1073

DSC_1096

Our third and final stop was Stardust Video & Coffee, which seems a bit redundant, but it’s right around the corner from East End Market. I’m always up for checking out new study spots, and Stardust did not disappoint. What’s even better is that there is a bar, a great cocktail menu, and food to go with all of it! There are also a bunch of cool weekly events such as the Audubon Park Farmers Market. To keep updated with everything, you can follow their blog here!

CSC_1119

DSC_1106

I’m so glad these new finds did not disappoint. I had been wanting to go to Stardust since November and was just now getting around to it. East End Market is finally getting the buzz it deserves in the local news, and I couldn’t be happier for all of the artisans. After all, food is perhaps the best craft of all. 😉 Have any of you discovered anything cool this weekend? Leave me a comment!

sig

7 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures

Leave a Reply

