Pantone Color of the Year – Marsala

DSC_1038

Ever since I started keeping tabs on Pantone’s Color of the Year, it hasn’t steered me wrong. 2015 is no different. In case you haven’t heard by now, Marsala is this year’s Color of the Year. Here’s a description of the color according to Pantone‘s website:

A naturally robust and earthy wine red, Marsala enriches our minds, bodies and souls.

I’m absolutely loving it. Here’s how I recently styled the Color of the Year!

Makeup

DSC_1027

Makeup by Peter Pratts

DSC_0941

I’ve been seeing a lot of red eyeshadow looks lately, and they look good on pretty much everyone. I recently got the new Love Sick eyeshadow stack by Melt Cosmetics, and the namesake shade is the perfect deep red for me! $48 might seem pricey for an eyeshadow quad, but that comes to $12 per shadow, which is cheaper than MAC’s single eyeshadows. As you can see, the shadows are very pigmented, and look even better with MAC’s Fix + sprayed on the brush. The pans are a lot bigger than MAC’s pans and the packaging is super cool – it’s magnetic! Perfect for my makeup storage. I didn’t even mind the shipping costs because it shipped out the same day I ordered it, and came with a cute little lipstick keychain only a few days later. You can purchase the eyeshadow stack here.

There’s also the Sephora + Pantone Universe collection that’s out now, aka Marsala Madness.

Clothes

DSC_1040

DSC_1043

Altuzarra hit the nail right on the head with the Marsala shade for his collaboration with Target last year. In addition to my holiday dress, this peasant top from the collection is absolutely wonderful, and features two different shades of red. Who else is glad that peasant tops made a comeback? I’m not going to lie, I’ve been a fan ever since I saw Lizzie wearing them on Lizzie McGuire! I paired it with my Rebecca Minkoff tote, a pair of black destroyed skinny jeans from ASOS and my new favorite pair of Target Mossimo ankle booties. (Quick story about them- I originally wanted the Steve Madden ones that were all over the web and once I finally tracked them down in a size 11, they were sold out! Luckily I found these on clearance on Target’s website.)

The most beautiful thing about Marsala is how well it goes with most of the neutral shades. I can see myself being able to wear Marsala with anything black, brown, olive, cream/white, and denim. How do you all feel about 2015’s Color of the Year? Will you be wearing it?

sig

Leave a Reply

