Black Friday Mini-Haul: Beauty

Hello loves! I’m currently on vacation in NY, so I thought I would share the beauty part of my Black Friday/Cyber Monday haul with you all, as well as a few of my shopping tips for the shopaholic’s favorite holiday. I scored some pretty great deals ūüôā Please don’t mind the eyeshadow swatches, this was my first time doing them, and I thought for some reason I could get away with doing them really quickly with my fingers…if I swatch things next time, they’ll be a lot better, I promise!

Here are some quick tips to take note of for next year:
– Follow your favorite beauty brands on Instagram and sign up for their newsletter. You never know what special deals you might be able to get before everyone else!
– Become familiar with the sales from previous years and whether or not the company has been hinting toward a bigger sale than the previous year.
– Make a list of items that you know are going to be on sale, as well as a budget for them.
– Check out blogs that compile lists of the best beauty deals, such as Temptalia, College Fashion, and Refinery29.

DSC_0648 DSC_0647

L’OcciBox – L’Occitane
L’Occitane started a new sample box called the L’OcciBox just in time for the holidays. This quarter, they paired up with¬†ELLE to include four hand creams in a cute little pouch with a nail file. Also included are the Precious Cleansing Foam, Shea Butter Body Milk, two Immortelle Sample Divine Creams, and another hand cream. The box only cost $15 but retails for $59.40, so it’s an amazing deal. To my understanding, the offer ends on December 31st or until supplies last at your local L’Occitane store, so I definitely recommend calling and seeing if there are still any left in stock! I’ve always been a fan of their hand creams, but the almond skin oil is my new jam, especially with winter right around the corner.

DSC_0687  DSC_0716
Limecrime: Cashmere Velvetine (full price) 
Colourpop Cosmetics: Lippiestix in Pitch, Creature, Brink, Wet, Lumiere (not pictured); Eyeshadows in Dare, Game Face, and Get Lucky (L to R) $5/each
NARS: Almeria blush (20% off) 
Kat Von D: Everlasting Love Liquid Lipstick – Lolita (old formula) $6.99
LORAC: Pro Palette, eyelash curler ($35 plus tax on Cyber Monday)
Hourglass: Ambient Lighting Blush Palette ($20 off with Sephora VIB coupon), with a cameo appearance by my foot

The Limecrime Velvetine wasn’t on sale, but Cashmere is one of their newest shades so I had to get it before it sold out. So far, it’s a really nice grey-toned nude. Colourpop Cosmetics is a fairly new brand that I’m obsessed with. Each of their products is only $5 and goes on perfectly. I actually prefer their matte lipsticks to MAC’s matte lipsticks – they’re way less drying! I will probably keep placing orders until I own one of everything, and then back-ups of my favorites. Ever since I saw a swatch of the NARS Holiday limited edition (LE) blush (Almeria), I knew I had to have it. It was actually my first time trying a NARS blush, and I wondered why I had ever tried blushes from any other brand. The colour is so lovely and pigmented, perfect for fall/winter. Kat Von D’s ‘Lolita’ is probably one of the most coveted liquid lipstick shades; it has been out of stock at both Sephoras in my area for as long as I can remember, and every sales associate I have talked to expressed how much they regret not buying a couple when they had the chance. I was actually able to find this one at Marshalls for $6.99 – and since I don’t have anything to compare it to, it seems¬†pretty good to me. My biggest score as far as beauty goes is probably the LORAC Pro Palette. I should’ve gotten both, but I decided to stick with the original. They even threw in a cute red studded eyelash curler and some eyeshadow primer (not pictured). So far, all of the eyeshadows are very smooth and buttery. The first eyeshadow I ever bought was actually LORAC’s ‘Gold’ shadow, and I honestly haven’t found anything like it since, although ColourPop’s gold shades are close seconds. I can’t wait to test all of the neutral looks I’ll be able to create with the Pro Palette! As for the Hourglass blush palette, it’s absolutely beautiful. I was talked into getting it by a sales associate at Sephora since it’s LE, and so far, I have nothing but love for it. Here’s a picture featuring Game Face eyeshadow (ColourPop Cosmetics), Pitch Lippiestix, and a shade from the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette:
DSC_0667

Here are some (poor) swatches of just about everything:
DSC_0696    DSC_0699

DSC_0702  DSC_0704

Did you score any good beauty deals on Black Friday/Cyber Monday?

sig

2 thoughts on “Black Friday Mini-Haul: Beauty

  1. Pingback: Current Obsession: ColourPop Cosmetics | From Nubiana, With Love

  2. Pingback: Fridays are for Foodventures. | From Nubiana, With Love

Leave a Reply

