Summer Style Favorites

With the official start of autumn being right around the corner, I figured I would do a post on my favorite looks from this summer. It’ll be cool to look back on this next summer and see if I still own the items I obsessed over this past summer, or if I’ll be embarrassed by what I was gushing over.

SummerStyleFavorites

1. Classic brunch combo: Sundress + Chunky Heels | Sundresses are the norm for me when I go to brunch (usually every Sunday), because they’re cute and breathable in the scorching Florida sun. The dress in the first picture is an old Abercrombie dress I bought my freshman year of college and never wore. My shoes were my first purchase from JustFab, which probably wasn’t the smartest thing as I was a bit skeptical of the chunky heel trend. Luckily, I ended up loving these chunky heels and wear them when I want to be a little dressed up, but don’t want to bear the discomfort of (most) heels. Similar gladiator-style chunky heels are currently available at Target (in the shoe clearance section).

2. Scalloped Shorts | This was actually my first day of school outfit for the fall semester. I first started seeing scalloped shorts in a bunch of local boutiques, and when I first tried them on, I didn’t like how they looked on me. That’s when ASOS came to the rescue. I found the burgundy pair in the picture on sale for $28, had my mom take in the waist for me, and was ready to rock the scalloped look. I’m glad the shorts will be able to transition into fall because of the color! I also ended up scoring a pair of red high waist scalloped shorts from TJ Maxx for $10.

3. Boyfriend Jeans | It’s kind of a funny story how this obsession came to be. I was out shopping and was tired of wearing shorts all day, so I wanted a pair of jeans/pants to put on. I walked into American Eagle and was curious about the boyfriend jean trend, so I half-jokingly tried on the jeans in that picture. To my surprise, they fit perfectly and became my new favorite pair of jeans — and this is coming from a skinny jean lover. I love how versatile they are; I can pair them with a dressy cami, statement necklace, and heels, or dress them down with a v-neck tee and sandals. I definitely need to get a new pair in a darker wash for fall.

4. Palazzo Pants | Joggers and palazzo pants have been a huge trend this summer. At first, I thought there was no way I would be able to pull off such a wide legged pant because of how big my thighs are compared to everything else on my body, but I learned that it’s all about fit. I found the pants in the last picture at Zara during their semi-annual sale and fell in love with how soft the fabric was. I also adore the unique cut that almost makes it look like a maxi skirt rather than pants. Similar palazzo pants can be purchased at Charlotte Russe.

What styles did you rock this summer?

sig

Leave a Reply

